Mundane to Meaningful: Blogging Experiences

I can’t seem to get over the fact that I’ve been on WP for over a month now!

Ever since I joined WordPress, my life has changed. I begin the day reading interesting, informative and creative blogs; then spend a few more hours formulating thoughts and ideas for my own blog.  The amount of time I spent on the computer caused:

–          My mother-in-law to think that I have a new job.

–           My son to remark,” Ma, Can you leave your blog for at least an hour?”

Point taken! Now, I try not to sit at the computer when the kids are at home (and some days I do manage!)

Yet, surprisingly, my family has been very supportive. My son expressed interest in reading my blogs and he does so from time to time. My hubby is an avid follower and the good husband that he is, offers his valuable feedback only when I ask him to. He even commended me in front of his cousins the other day.

We met them over the weekend for lunch when they asked me, “So, what have you been doing since you quit your job?”  To which my hubby proudly replied, “She’s a full-time blogger”. (A status I’ve now been elevated to from full-time homemaker!) They were intrigued and asked me what my blog was about and what I wrote about. When I told them the name of my blog, they were mighty impressed.  I couldn’t help feeling grand!

But there was one thing that had been nagging me for a while now; The Site Stats. I’d read and heard about blogs that get over a 1000 hits a day and over a 100 ‘likes’  a post.   The maximum ‘views’ I ever managed was a measly 34. And I wondered how I could garner more traffic. Yes, I am one of the Stats junkies who keep a hawk-eye on the Stats every day, noting how many hits are logged every day; where, when and why are they coming from.

Where are they coming from? My Site Stats tell me that the majority of hits (audience?) come from across the seas on the other side of the world. When and Why? I haven’t figured out that yet. But knowing that my audience (?) lay on the other side, I tried experimenting with the time of posting to generate more hits. I posted early in the morning (‘their’ time!) hoping ‘they’ would log in as soon as the sun rose. I posted late at night (‘their’ time again) hoping ‘they’ would log in before going to bed.

Nothing worked.  So, last week, I decided to throw the ‘time experiment’ out of the window. Instead, I posted my blog when my audience was fast asleep in the middle of the night. And the site views breached the 60+ mark! Eureka! But the scientist in me knows that an experiment can be deemed a success only if the results can be reproduced at least 5 times, if possible in a row. So, I decided to test the ‘success’ by posting at the same time again the next day. The needle stuck at 34. And the day after, it dropped to an all-time low of 12!

But then I had an epiphany and I remembered why I started blogging in the first place. For the joy of writing! Yes, it’s wonderful to have great support and feedback, but that shouldn’t be the purpose of blogging. So, I’ve decided to stay away from the Site Stats (maybe steal a glance occasionally!) and stay on track to write and share thoughts and perceptions of life as I know it.

This post is in response to Daily Post Writing Challenge: Mundane to Meaningful

16 thoughts on “Mundane to Meaningful: Blogging Experiences

  1. I also give that Stats page too much attention… Which is odd, since I don’t REALLY care how many people check up on my blog… Only, apparently I do after all.. I wish my mind could make up its.. err… mind..

  2. OK here’s the thing – i takes time, but really, the best ways to get hits are to make great use of your tags, and to follow or comment on other blogger’s posts that you like or have something in common with. They will then visit yours – and other visitors to their posts will see your comments… challenges like this bring readers, too… keep blogging on topics that mean something to you to build your archive – if you build it, they will come!

    1. Thanks for the tips! I do follow and try commenting on other’s posts, maybe not enough though. It’s a start and more than the ‘stats’ , i hope to have a long blogging life!

  3. You’ve only been around for a month – I know it sounds trite and repetitive, but just keep doing it consistently and stay active with other like-minded bloggers and the audience will build up over time. I don’t get a whole lot of visitors on my current blog yet (my high has been 78 visits in one day) but I’ve had blogs in the past and they do build up a following over time if you keep engaging with it regularly. I find that occasionally promoting something that I think is particularly interesting to my Facebook friends helps, but I don’t promote everything because I don’t want it to start to feel annoying.

    Besides, I’d rather have 15 people visit who are really engaged than 100s of “visits” where someone is just browsing the headline and leaves.

    1. Thanks Nora for your kind comments and tips! Well, atleast I ‘m getting some feedback here. In my previous blog, I never got any comments! So, that’s a positive sign, I guess. And for the record, the day I posted this, my ‘views’ crossed 70 🙂

  4. I enjoyed reading your post. I know it takes time to build followers. I am also fairly new (Dec. 2011) and I enjoy blogging very much. If you like what you do people will notice. Thank you for visiting my blog, I appreciate it.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  5. It’s a high , no doubt, when you get many to view your blog. But I really like it when someone places a detailed comment, even it it be only one on that blog, which can make me feel there is someone out there who could relate to what I’d written. I do read a lot of blogs, but I realise too that I leave comments only on those which contained something which touched me somewhere, either made me smile or think or say to myself…”Exactly!!!” 🙂

Love to hear your thoughts

