An ordinary Quest!

“The real act of discovery lies not in finding new lands, but seeing with new eyes” – Marcel Proust

I recently came across this video where the speaker informs us that to be creative, we need to think like a traveller, since we tend to be hyper- aware of our environment while travelling.  So if we can keep our brains super active, as in travel-mode, and notice common and everyday things, we can capture fresh ideas to use in our lives and work.

But more than travelling, it’s blogging that helped me to look at the common and ordinary with new eyes, be more aware and curious of the happenings around me.  It made me feel like a hunter who tracks, pursues and captures, only in my case it was  ideas and knowledge.

Blogging is such an integral part of my life, that I’m now introduced to people as an avid blogger, just as I was recently at a women’s get-together.  But when the ladies heard my blog’s name, I had to quickly clarify that my blog actually has no aspects of home-making.

It then came to my mind that perhaps I should also put this disclaimer on my blog, so that it doesn’t confuse the readers who may expect to read about parenting or any other issues that concern a homemaker. Though to give myself some credit, I actually intended to share my life as an individual and a homemaker through this blog. But then I hit 2 roadblocks.

  1. My sons forbade me to write about them- especially what they said or did. (The only allowance I got was for the dengue dairies!!)
  2. Others like my mom didn’t want me to write about any member of the family –both immediate and extended, lest someone takes offence (as I seem to lack the artful skill of diplomacy!)

Left with no choice, I started rambling about things that had nothing to do with the blog title. Sometimes, I wondered if I should change it or even stop blogging, wondering if it made sense to post something just for sake of it. But I couldn’t stop – since what started out as a hobby soon became a passion. And added to it was the unexpected response from friends and family-   like the encouraging note I received a few days back from an old and special childhood friend whom I haven’t met in over 15 years.

So I continued writing and blogging soon became a quest – to find my voice, a niche for my blog; to learn about other cultures, experiences and especially about writing.

Since I’ve been reading about how important it is to have a niche , I hope that you, my readers, will bear with me as I venture on this quest (and continue with my ramblings) until I ‘m able find a niche . (Or maybe I never will :-)!)

Related :

FrizzText’s Story Challenge Letter Q

12 thoughts on “An ordinary Quest!

  1. I think you are doing well. I like coming here to read your blog. Don’t quit! Keep up the good work. We all learn from each other no matter what it is. Your opinions matter.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. I survived many restrictions like those you’ve mentioned (and others):
    1.My sons forbade me to write about them- especially what they said or did. (The only allowance I got was for the dengue dairies!!)
    2.Others like my mom didn’t want me to write about any member of the family –both immediate and extended, lest someone takes offence (as I seem to lack the artful skill of diplomacy!)

  3. I think you are doing quite well for someone who doesn’t have a niche 🙂
    You never know, you might find it liberating to be able to write about whatever you wish!

    1. Thank you! In a way, it is nice to write about whatever catches my fancy :-), I only worry if I’m confusing my readers who might stop following !!

  4. I’m glad you keep blogging because you add something more to the conversation… As for the niche, it’s not a requirement for blogging at all, keep on writing. 🙂
    Thank you for checking in during the Hurricane… your kind wishes were appreciated!

  5. I discovered so much about myself and the things and happenings around me since I started blogging. It made me appreciate even the simplest of blessings. I share the same thoughts when your wrote, ” it’s blogging that helped me to look at the common and ordinary with new eyes, be more aware and curious of the happenings around me. It made me feel like a hunter who tracks, pursues and captures, only in my case it was ideas and knowledge.” A toast our quests and where it will take us. Great post!

    1. Thanks IT! Sometimes, I wonder why I didn’t think of blogging earlier!
      Through your lovely heartfelt posts, I can see that you do ‘appreciate the simplest of blessings’. Have a good week.

Love to hear your thoughts

