Dengue Diaries: Final

This is a chronicle of events that happened a year ago when I suffered from dengue. You can find the previous entries under ‘Dengue Diaries’.

Monday.

We go through the morning routine of drawing blood again and waiting for the results.

A’s report shows a count of 57,000. There‘s no drop, but no increase either. We hope it‘s the nadir and that it will start rising from now. Just in case, we have a few friends lined up for transfusion.

It’s an uneventful day for me at the hospital. I spent most of the day by myself. My blood count has shown a good increase – 100k. The doctor says that I can go home .But I have to wait for J to complete the discharge process. In the meantime, the paediatrician informs us that A’s BP and all other vital signs look good and if the evening blood test show a significant increase, then he can go home.

J has taken his laptop and some DVDs to the hospital today to relieve A from his boredom. He watches his latest favourite movie ‘Megamind’! The IV fluid is still running and he develops some itching. There are no rashes, but he, too, is given the anti-allergy medicine. Soon, his blood results are in – 84,000.  The doctor announces that A can go home now;  he has a gleeful smile on his face! By the time the discharge formalities are done and they get home, its late evening.

It’s too late to start my discharge process now, so I spend another night at the hospital and go home the next afternoon, happy that the ordeal is over.

But tough luck!

The following morning when I wake up, I get dizzy and land up in the hospital again diagnosed with very low BP and an extended 2 day stay.

Prologue:

It’s exactly a year today when I finally came back from the hospital. The only silver lining in this whole fracas was that   my younger son, though diagnosed with dengue, didn’t need to be hospitalised. He was safe at home under the loving care of his paternal grandmother.

It took me an entire month to get back to normal, nurtured by my mom who went to lengths to feed me with a variety of nutritious food- I was specially advised to eat pomegranates and papaya leaf juice to boost the platelet counts. (though I’m not sure if there’s any scientific evidence to back this.) My older son A, fortunately recovered in a week and was able to resume school quickly.

The rise in dengue cases and resulting death in the city in the last few months made me realise how fortunate we were to come through with no major after effects. Dengue is one unique disease that actually makes one more vulnerable to it . After one who has had it , contracts it another time, it can be far more dangerous.

It has been a life changing experience.  Life happens ! And whenever it throws a spanner in the works, I only pray and hope that I have the fortitude to endure whatever is thrown at me and my family!!

15 thoughts on “Dengue Diaries: Final

  1. You sure were lucky Deepa! Over the past three or four years we’ve had the same alarming increase in dengue here in Colombo (where 20 years ago we had almost no reports of dengue). Like you, i had a lucky escape a few years ago, and other friends too, but I also have a friend who didn’t make it – one day I was joking with him on the phone, three days later I got a call to say he had died.
    It’s serious: we must take mosquitos seriously – eradicating their breeding sites from our houses and gardens – even when we must have bromeliads in that shady corner, flowers on the hall table! – and covering up, or applying an effective repellent (a good tropical strength roll-on or spray repellent is the only thing I ask friends to bring me from Australia!).
    People here swear by a papaya-skin concoction and whether it’s circumstantial or not, increased blood count seems to follow after only a few dozes.

    1. We are all now terrified of mosquitoes! I have a quarterly pest control service coming home in addition to the monthly fogging by the municipal guy . We still aren’t rid of them!
      After me, a bunch of my friends too were diagnosed with this disease; though no one I know personaly succumbed to it.
      Yes, Papaya juice is widely accepted as a remedy for increasing platelet counts here.
      I ‘m also hoping that a vaccine will soon be discovered to help fight/prevent Dengue.

      1. That would be marvellous, but I’m not holding my breath for the vaccine – fogging and keeping the place clear of anything that holds water is the only protection we’re going to be able to rely on for a long time to come, i fear. Though I did hear the other day that they’re having encouraging results to a malaria vaccine some science are working on in Australia.

      2. I missed that about a dengue vaccine! Here they’ve imported some biological agent from Cuba that’s supposed to make the females infertile – I don’t know how long before we should see an improvement. Take care 🙂

  2. You were indeed fortunate Deepa as was A. Do you generate antibodies once you contract it I wonder? Heard the dengue casualties were particularly bad this year. The garbage situation in Bangalore can’t be helping much.

    1. There are 4 strains of the dengue virus and one develops immunity only to the one that has infected and not the other 3. Apparently, a relapse or a 2nd infection later is supposed to be a lot more severe.
      The garbage situation is really dismal. Our neighbourhood which used to be a picture of cleanliness now has garbage dumped on several streets. Painful to watch!

  3. I wish you and your family a speedy recovery and good health. Dengue is scary and I knew a few who didn’t make it. Faith, love and prayers helps a lot. I agree, ” I’ve stopped making plans. Life happens ! And whenever it throws a spanner in the works, I only pray and hope that I have the fortitude to endure whatever is thrown at me and my family!!” God bless you and your love ones.

Love to hear your thoughts

